featured image

Jon Palmer Acoustic Band – One Fine Day

album of the weekThis weeks album of the week is, Jon Palmer Acoustic Band – One Fine Day

One of Yorkshire’s great live acts, with high musicianship and great songs, the transition to recorded material can be a hard act to pull off.
So here we are with the band’s third studio album, One Fine Day, featuring 12 new songs all written by Jon Palmer. It follows the band’s critically-acclaimed second album, The Silences In Between.
The subject matters are a familiar theme for anyone who has an interest in Jon’s songs – the Yorkshire town of Otley features prominently as it is the hometown of the band, but there’s room for more social angst tackling subjects as diverse as Mr Trump, Brexit, and even a depressed 19th century millworker.
Jon is never afraid to wear his heart on his sleeve and this album finds him in fine form.
The lively opener, Music Town (now guess which town that is…) gives a flavour of what’s to come. Wendy Ross’s excellent fiddle is high in the mix, with the rhythm section of Ricky Silvers on double bass and the drums of Roy Whyke propelling the song along very nicely.
The title track is another upbeat song featuring the superb mandolin and whistle of Matt Nelson and backing vocals from Edwina Hayes, a fine artist in her own right.
Other musicians to appear on the album include producer David Crickmore, and Baz Warne of The Stranglers who guests on three tracks.


  1. Music Town
  2. One Fine Day
  3. The Broken Pieces Of Yesterday
  4. Great North Road
  5. Bridges Not Walls
  6. Vagabonds & Rogues
  7. Hey Now!
  8. Little England
  9. The Knife Thrower’s Assistant
  10. She Walks With Me
  11. No-one Can Hear
  12. Everytime You Bang The Drum
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *