featured image

Genesis – Duke

album of the week imageThis weeks album of the week is , Genesis – Duke

Duke is the tenth studio album by English rock band Genesis, released in March 1980 on Charisma Records. The album followed a period of inactivity for the band in early 1979. Phil Collins moved to Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada, in an effort to salvage his failing first marriage, while Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford recorded solo albums. Collins returned to the UK after his marriage ended and wrote a significant amount of material, some of which was used for Duke and some was later reworked for his first solo album, Face Value. Duke contained a mix of individually-written songs and tracks that evolved from jam sessions in mid-1979, while recording took place at the end of the year. The break in activity rejuvenated the band, and they found the album an easy one to work on.

Track listing:

Side One

  1. “Behind the Lines”
  2. “Duchess”
  3. “Guide Vocal”
  4. “Man of Our Times”
  5. “Misunderstanding”
  6. “Heathaze”

Side two

  1. “Turn It On Again”
  2. “Alone Tonight”
  3. “Cul-de-sac”
  4. “Please Don’t Ask”
  5. “Duke’s Travels”
  6. “Duke’s End” (instrumental)
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *